Some phones have a “Do not disturb” setting that you can program to go silent at night. I needed that last winter to ignore everything at night when I had pneumonia. Check to see if your phone supports it!
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .