I understand these points more clearly the more I read on this site. I hope it goes without saying that if any member is getting rid of "the scruffy one" to make garage space for "the new one" they should use SOC classifieds before ebay.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .