So, @MikeM......... You've asked for help (very politely, I might add), gotten a whole lot of advice, on your own figured out what happened and what must be done to repair it once you get a new part, so I guess it is time that someone said;
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .