Skip to main content

Woke up today to a gas smell in my garage.  Looked under the car saw gas with an oily residue under the car towards the inside edge of the driver's rear tire.  Checked the engine compartment, nothing looks wet at all.  The last time the car was driven  was six days ago with no issues.  I may have to jack the car up to see things better.  Any ideas for me, I am by no means a mechanic.  Of course I can't put it outside, we're expecting snow for the third time this October.

Thanks, from Wyoming 

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Probably one of two things: a) a cracked fuel hose, or b) a leak from where the hose is clamped to either the hardline from the tunnel or where it connects to the fuel filter.  Neither of these is hard to fix but anything wiith gas is a bit scary.

For what it's worth, I replaced the cloth-wrapped fuel line, including the short one in the front, with Gates Barricade 1/4 inch 27347 and used fuel injection hose clamps. 

If  it's just a problem with a connection, then just tighten whatever clamp is loose and put off replacing the hoses until your fuel tank is nearly empty so there's less to drain. 

Remove the air filter on the driver's side carb.  Look down the throat of the carb.  Is it full of gas?  If so, the carb float/needle valve is stuck (open) and the carb is overflowing.  This is not unheard of.

Don't try to start the engine in this condition.  You can cause damage if you dump an intake manifold's full of raw gas into a combustion chamber and try to compress it.

Check your oil level.  If an intake valve happens to be open in this 'overflowing' condition, the gas will flow through the valve, into the combustion chamber, past the rings, and into the crankcase.  If so, change the oil and that part is good-to-go.