Skip to main content

Hello all,

I am new to the relm of the Spyder but not new to Porsches or other great cars.

I am facinated by the Spyder and plan on buying on this year.

My question is a little off the wall. I have never seen a Spyder in person. (HEY ANYONE IN LOUISIANA,Baton Rouge, South Mississippi,or --I-10 coridor in Louisina, New orleans even counts, or going to be at the Porsche Parade this year. I NEED a ride. I'll even pay for GAS!!)

Back to my question....my father and I have restored a 78 MGB I am intesed in knowing how a Spyder drives compared to this type of car. Or compared to a Boxster I drive on Everyday. Any help or comparisons would be great.

Gary
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hello all,

I am new to the relm of the Spyder but not new to Porsches or other great cars.

I am facinated by the Spyder and plan on buying on this year.

My question is a little off the wall. I have never seen a Spyder in person. (HEY ANYONE IN LOUISIANA,Baton Rouge, South Mississippi,or --I-10 coridor in Louisina, New orleans even counts, or going to be at the Porsche Parade this year. I NEED a ride. I'll even pay for GAS!!)

Back to my question....my father and I have restored a 78 MGB I am intesed in knowing how a Spyder drives compared to this type of car. Or compared to a Boxster I drive on Everyday. Any help or comparisons would be great.

Gary
Gary: I would say that the spyder will definetly handle better than an MG. Maybe even better than a Healy.
Because the car is so low to the ground, it really holds corners. Thunder Ranch claims 0.96g on the skid pad with 165's on the front and 205's on the rear. While I do not have an accelerometer, I can vouch for the cars ability to roach the corners.
One thing I have noticed. The car is so light that if I really hit the binders when I'm driving by myself, the right front wheel will sometimes lock up. This doesn't happen with two people in the car.