Skip to main content

Hi, folks. Noob, here. Just bought a Thunder Ranch 550 Spyder & had a bad idea (my favorite kind):

Can you install a modern VW diesel engine (ala Top Gear's "Project Sipster")? In a 550? Has anyone tried?

I'm aware of the many reasons NOT to do this, but is it POSSIBLE? A 1300 lb car + a motor that pulls 40MPGs in a 3000 lb Jetta has to be good for at least decent gas mileage, right? If a watercooled Sube WRX engine, will work, why not a diesel? Tom @ Thunder Ranch told me it could be done... with a little creativity in the motor mounts/half shafts dept.

I'm no mechanic so I reserve the right to be wrong about everything.

But if If anyone can, I'm hiring :-)

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Hi, folks. Noob, here. Just bought a Thunder Ranch 550 Spyder & had a bad idea (my favorite kind):

Can you install a modern VW diesel engine (ala Top Gear's "Project Sipster")? In a 550? Has anyone tried?

I'm aware of the many reasons NOT to do this, but is it POSSIBLE? A 1300 lb car + a motor that pulls 40MPGs in a 3000 lb Jetta has to be good for at least decent gas mileage, right? If a watercooled Sube WRX engine, will work, why not a diesel? Tom @ Thunder Ranch told me it could be done... with a little creativity in the motor mounts/half shafts dept.

I'm no mechanic so I reserve the right to be wrong about everything.

But if If anyone can, I'm hiring :-)
Something to think about this this. The ability of a car to maintain a constant speed is more related to drag and gearing than anything else (highway mileage). Weight sucks fuel big time for acceleration, but if gearing and drag are good, the maintenance of speed is pretty frugal. So if the vehicle that you are looking for the transplant from gets 60 mpg and your goal is 100, you need to determine how you will get there.